Image

Sierra does singles night

The day has finally come…a day I feared might one day creep up on me when I was least expecting it. Yup, I’m going to a singles night. Ever heard of Lovestruck? I’d seen the ads on the tube, dismissed it as just another dating website for lonely singletons and went back to reading my Metro/browsing #Tubecrush.

But recently I got chatting to a fellow singleton at a gay wedding who invited me to a Lovestruck event at trendy Carbon bar in Mayfair. Momentarily miffed at her assumption that I’m desperate for a man, I heard her out and came to the conclusion that she just wanted to help a sister out.

I reminded myself that the happy couple getting married that day met online, and in fact one of the brides used to be a guy (it’s complicated). If my friends Hannah and Jenny could find love online, maybe it’s worth a shot? And anyway, what’s the worst that could happen?

Leave a Reply

